Important Questions for Class 9 Chapter 7 - Diversity in Living Organisms

Important questions based on NCERT syllabus for Chapter 7 - Diversity in Living Organisms:

Question-1: What are the general characteristics of Kingdom Animalia?

Solution: General characteristics of Kingdom Animalia are:

(i) All animals are multicellular.
(ii) All animals are eukaryotic.
(iii) All animals are heterotrophic.
(iv) Animals exhibit locomotion.
(vi) Most of the animal have sense organs and nervous system.
(vii) Nutrition is generally ingestive.
(viii) Reproduction can be asexual or sexual.

Question-2: Give three examples of the range of variations that you see in life forms around you.

Solution: We find various kinds of range of variations among bio-life such as:

(i) Variation in terms of size: Size of organism varies from as small as microorganisms to as large as redwood trees and blue whales (30 meters in length).
(ii) Variations in terms of lifespan: Some organisms like mosquitoes do not live more than two days while animals like tortoise and elephants live up to 100 years.
(iii) Variations in terms of nutrition: Some animals are herbivores, others are carnivores or omnivores.

Question-3: Explain how animals in Vertebrata are classified into further subgroups.

Solution: Animals in Vertebrata are classified into five classes:

(i) Class Pisces: This class includes fish such as Scoliodon, tuna, rohu, shark, etc. These animals mostly live in water. Hence, they have special adaptive features such as a streamlined body, presence of a tail for movement, gills, etc. to live in water.
(ii) Class Amphibia: It includes frogs, toads, and salamanders. These animals have a dual mode of life. In the larval stage, the respiratory organs are gills, but in the adult stage, respiration occurs through the lungs or skin. They lay eggs in water.
(iii) Class Reptilia: It includes reptiles such as lizards, snakes, turtles, etc. They usually creep or crawl on land. The body of a reptile is covered with dry and cornified skin to prevent water loss. They lay eggs on land.
(iv) Class Aves: It includes all birds such as sparrow, pigeon, crow, etc. Most of them have feathers. Their forelimbs are modified into wings for flight, while hind limbs are modified for walking and clasping. They lay eggs.
(v) Class Mammalia: It includes a variety of animals which have milk-producing glands to nourish their young ones. Some lay eggs and some give birth to young ones. Their skin has hair as well as sweat glands to regulate their body temperature.