Important Questions for Class 11 Chapter 22 - Chemical Coordination and integration

Important questions based on NCERT syllabus for Chapter 22 - Chemical Coordination and integration:

Question-1: Which of the following hormones is not secreted by anterior pituitary?
(a) Growth hormone (b) Follicle stimulating hormone
(c) Oxytocin (d) Adrenocorticotrophic hormone

Solution: The pars distalis region of pituitary, commonly called anterior pituitary, produces 6 Growth Hormone (GH), Prolactin (PRL), Thyroid Stimulating Hormone (TSH), Adrenocorticotrophic Hormone (ACTH), Luteinizing Hormone (LH) and Follicle Stimulating Hormone (FSH). Neurohypophysis (pars nervosa) also known as posterior pituitary, stores and releases two hormones called oxytocin and vasopressin, which are actually synthesised by the hypothalamus and are transported axonally to neurohypophysis.

Question-2: What is the role-played by luteinizing hormones in males and females respectively?

Solution: LH stimulates the synthesis and secretion of androgens called male hormones. In females, LH is essential for ovulation. In females, LH induces ovulation of fully mature follicles (graafian follicles) and maintains the corpus luteum formed from the remnants of the graafian follicles after ovulation.

Question-3: What is the role of second messenger in hormone action?

Solution: Hormones which do not enter the target cell, interact with specific receptors located on the surface of the target cell membranes and generates second messengers (e.g., cAMP) on the inner side of plasma membrane. The second messenger, in turn, carries out all the hormonal functions.