CBSE releases final list: 37 teachers to be conferred Teachers Award on Sept 06, 2018


The Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) released on its website cbse.nic.in the final list of 37 teachers from across India who will be conferred "CBSE Teachers Award for 2017-18" on September 06, 2018. Like last year, Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu will confer the National Teachers' Award this year also on the occasion of Teachers' Day.

Minister of State for Human Resource Development will grace the occasion and present the awards to the selected teachers on September 06, 2018 at 11:30 am. The venue for the function will be Conference Hall, National Rail Museum, Shanti Path, Chanakyapuri in New Delhi", the CBSE said

Get Free Educational Material Right In Your Email!!

Instituted in 1958 to commemorate the second President of India S. Radhakrishnan, a renowned educationist, the award was earlier conferred by the President of India. Teachers from state or central government schools and those affiliated with CBSE or CISCE are eligible for the award. For the first time, teachers were allowed to apply directly nominate themselves for the award. 6,692 applications were received from teachers from all over the country for the awards.

As per the MHRD, all regular teachers will be eligible to apply and no minimum years of service are required which enabled estimable young teachers to apply as well. Earlier, teachers with minimum 15 years of service were only eligible to apply for the awards. The number of awards has been reorganized to 45 and the ministry said this has been necessary to reinstate the stature of the awards (under the earlier scheme the number of awardees had crossed 300).

"The CBSE Teachers' Award will comprise of a Certificate of Commendation, monetary reward of Rs.50,000 and a shawl", the CBSE said.

Sponsored Products